Biography

kattamlogo

An experienced musician

Kattam – who is part Quebeçois and part Morrocan – first trained in classical music, studying piano, singing and percussion. His keen interest in world music and travel has served as the basis for manifold musical experiences abroad. He studied conga, timbales and drum in Havana in 2005, djembe and doum doum in Guinea in 2007 with such international masters as Mamady Keïta and Famoudou Konaté, and derbouka in Morroco with Mustapha Antari. He has also studied dhol through The Dhol Foundation since 2012, and Indian tabla with Hindole Majumdar since 2015. He was able to perfect his skills in pop percussions with Paul Picard, Céline Dion’s percussionist.

On the music scene, Kattam is currently part of Ayrad, winner of a Felix Award and several other distinctions, and has been an active member of several other bands, including Wesli Band and Bambara Trans, named Révélations Radio-Canada; La Mandragore, nominated at ADISQ and winner of an Opus Award; La Famille Zon; and the multi award-winning Niyaz. His experiences have included collaborations with such renowed artists as Marie-Mai, Lynda Thalie, Mes Aïeux, Mélissa Lavergne, Manu Militari, The Losts Fingers, Luc Boivin and the Belle et Bum team, Kissima Diabaté and Saïda Fikri, etc. Kattam also earned his stripes as a teacher and team-building instructor.

Kattam’s artistic path has also been enriched by other experiences. In 2009, he joined Cirque du Soleil for a special event in Washington. In 2010 he performed at the Vancouver Winter Olympic Games, and in 2012 he was dancer among the cast that presented a Bollywood dance performance at the Gala des Jutras. In 2013 and 2015, he recorded the percussion under the direction of Martin Léon for the movies A good lie and Guibord s’en va-t-en guerre by Philippe Falardeau. He has also been featured in several television performances, including the Série Montréal Québec reality show, for which he created the opening dance-percussion choreography. He played also the lead role in the play Ali au pays d’Alice, presented at Place des Arts as part of the 2012 Festival du Monde arabe.

Drawing on his extensive experience with youth and family audiences – with close to 200 shows per year – Kattam created his first solo performance, titled Kattam and his Tam-Tams. The show has been successfully presented in daycare centres and elementary schools, as well as in performance venues across Quebec and Canada. In addition to his solo show, Kattam release in 2016 his debut music album De Tombouctou à Bombay lending renewed momentum to his career due to various prizes and nominations. In 2017 he release his english album Timbuktu to Bombay and in 2018 the DVD of his live show.

17 prix

Prizes

Tilly Award 2018 (USA)- Best Family Fun - DVD
Tilly Award 2018 (USA)- Best Family Fun - CD
Parent and Teacher Choice Award 2018 (USA) 
- Gold Medal - DVD and CD
Global Music Awards 2018 (USA) - Silver Medal Winner - DVD and CD - Outstanding Achievement
Gala ARISTA 2018 (Montréal)
-
Prix coup de coeur - Jeune Chambre de Commerce de Montréal
Parents' Choice Award 2018 (USA) 
- Gold Medal - Timbuktu to Bombay
Congrès Maghrébin au Québec 2017 - Prix Arts et culture
Académie Charles Cros 2017 (France) - Coup de coeur - Disques pour enfants
Independant Music Awards 2016 (USA)
 - Best Children's Music Album
Prix Product'Or 2016 (Ontario) - Tournée Scolaire - Réseau Ontario

Nominations

Gala ARISTA 2018 (Montréal) - Jeune travailleur autonome du Québec - Jeune Chambre de Commerce de Montréal
JUNO Awards 2017
- Children's Album of the year
Trille Or 2017 (Canada) - Artiste du Qc s'étant le plus illustré dans la francophonie canadienne
ADISQ 2016 (Québec) - Album de l'année - Jeunesse
Canadian Folk Music Awards 2016 - Artiste solo de l'année - musique du monde
Canadian Folk Music Awards 2016 - Album jeunesse de l'année

Artistic Path

Travel is Kattam’s chief source of inspiration. From East to West, he has drawn on inexhaustible and ever-evolving traditions to nourish his world view. Be it to experience what is sacred or celebrate, music is the powerful instrument, his passport to discovering different cultures. Guided by his passion for percussion as well as dance and theatre, Kattam is constantly setting a course for new horizons that bring out the depth of the human experience.

Among the music groups with whom he works, Kattam strives to strike a balance between technical and intuitive styles, inspired by the masters under whom he has trained. While staying true to the respective traditions of the instruments he plays, he also blends styles and genres, in keeping with the 21st century trend toward genre-bending.

In his youth projects, Kattam acts as both a transmitter and a communicater. His original pieces place children front and center. Watch and listen—but also participate. His aim is to foster a taste for music, discovery and self-expression among these children, to partake in celebrations specific to different cultures, and to make both popular and spiritual music accessible—ultimately in order to teach children that beyond cultural differences lies a shared humanity...

For Kattam, the stage, first and foremost, is a way to share this enthusiasm and the life force that drives him.

Kattam Solo 2189

 

News, gifts and discounts!

Follow Kattam by subscribing to his newsletter!
You will also receive gifts and discounts for the online boutique!

 

Meet Kattam

Portrait of career - MABI TV
Rapping Africa

Follow Kattam

Facebook

See Facebook page


Instagram
@kattamtam

See Instagram page

Biographie
Doté d’une solide expérience auprès des clientèles jeunesses et familiales grâce à près de deux cents spectacles par année!

Un musicien d'expérience

D’origine québécoise et marocaine, Kattam est d’abord formé en musique classique (piano, chant, percussions). Son vif intérêt pour la musique du monde et les voyages lui font multiplier les expériences musicales à l’étranger. Il étudie les congas, les timbales et la batterie à la Havane en 2005, le djembé et les doum doum en Guinée auprès des maîtres internationaux Mamady Keïta et Famoudou Konaté en 2007, puis la derbouka au Maroc avec Mustapha Antari. Il étudie aussi le dhol à Montréal depuis 2012 avec The Dhol Foundation et les tablas indiens avec Hindole Majumdar depuis 2015. Il bénéficie finalement de perfectionnements auprès de Paul Picard, percussionniste pour Céline Dion.

Sur la scène musicale, Kattam sera membre actif de plusieurs groupes dont Ayrad récipiendaire d'un Félix ainsi que plusieurs autres prix, Wesli Band et Bambara Trans nommés Révélation Radio-Canada, La Mandragore nommé à l’ADISQ et gagnant du Prix Opus, La Famille Zon, Niyaz plusieurs fois récompensé, etc. Ses expériences l’améneront à collaborer avec plusieurs artistes de renom tels que Marie-Mai, Lynda Thalie, Mes Aïeux, Mélissa Lavergne, Manu Militari, Dramatik, The Lost Fingers, Luc Boivin et l’équipe de Belle et Bum, Kissima Diabaté, Saïda Fikri, etc. Kattam fera aussi ses preuves à titre d’enseignant et de formateur en team building. 


D’autres expériences viendront enrichir le parcours artistique de Kattam. En 2009 il joint le Cirque du Soleil pour un événement spécial à Washington. En 2010 il performe à Vancouver dans le cadre des jeux Olympliques d’hiver. En 2012 il participe en tant que danseur au Gala des Jutras dans un numéro de danse Bollywood. En 2013 et 2015 il enregistre sous la direction musical de Martin Léon les percussions pour les films The good lie et Guibord s'en va-t-en guerre de Philippe Falardeau. Il a aussi participé à plusieurs prestations télévisuelles dont l’ouverture de la téléréalité Série Montréal Québec dont il a signé la chorégraphie danse-percussions. Il a également tenu le rôle titre dans la pièce de theâtre Ali au pays d’Alice dans le cadre du Festival du Monde arabe 2012 à la Place des Arts.

Doté d’une solide expérience auprès des clientèles jeunesses et familiales grâce à près de deux cents spectacles par année, Kattam crée son premier spectacle solo Kattam-et-ses-tam-tams qui connait un succès tant dans les garderies, les écoles primaires que les réseaux de diffusion du Québec et du reste du Canada (Maisons de la culture, Sons et Brioches à la Place des Arts, festival Edmonton Chante, tournée des écoles primaires de la Saskatchewan à la Nouvelle-Écosse, Fête de la musique à Tremblant, etc). En complémentarité de son spectacle, Kattam lance son album de musique du monde pour enfants en février 2016 : "De Tombouctou à Bombay", qui donnera une nouvelle rayonnance à sa carrière.

Prix:

Congrès Maghrébin au Québec 2017 : Prix Art et Culture
Coup de coeur de l'Académie Charles Cros 2017 (France) : Album pour enfants
Independant Music Awards 2016
(USA) : Best Children's Music Album
Prix Product'Or 2016 (Ontario): Tournée Scolaire - Réseau Ontario

Nominations:

JUNO AWARDS 2017 - Children's Album of the year
Trille Or 2017 (Canada) - Artiste du Qc s'étant le plus illustré dans la francophonie canadienne
ADISQ 2016 (Québec) - Album de l'année - Jeunesse
Canadian Folk Music Awards 2016 - Artiste solo de l'année - musique du monde
Canadian Folk Music Awards 2016 - Album jeunesse de l'année

Démarche Artistique

Le voyage est la première source d’inspiration de Kattam. De l’orient à l’occident, l’inépuisable héritage des traditions et son évolution nourrit sans cesse sa vision du monde. Que ce soit pour vivre le sacré ou pour festoyer, la musique est ce puissant instrument qu’il utilise comme passeport pour découvrir les différentes cultures. Guidé par sa passion pour les percussions, mais aussi pour la danse et le théâtre, il est constamment à la recherche de nouveaux horizons qui éclairent la profondeur de l’expérience humaine.

Au sein des groupes de musique avec lesquels il travaille, Kattam vise la balance entre un jeu technique et intuitif, inspiré par les maîtres avec lesquels il est formé. Tout en restant fidèle aux traditions de chaque instrument dont il joue, le métissage des styles et des genres s’impose dans la réalité du 21ème siècle.

Dans ses projets jeunesses, Kattam est à la fois transmetteur et communicateur. Ses créations originales mettent l’enfant au coeur des numéros qu’il élabore. Regarder, écouter, mais surtout participer ! Son objectif : nourrir chez l’enfant ce goût de la musique, de la découverte, du voyage, de l’expression de soi. Transmettre la façon dont les différents peuples célèbrent la vie. Rendre accessible la musique populaire et spirituelle. Faire comprendre à l’enfant qu’au delà des différences culturelles, l’autre, c’est aussi soi…

Somme toute, la scène est avant tout pour Kattam un moyen de partager cet enthousiasme, cette énergie vitale, qui l’anime.

Kattam sur la scène

kattamlogo

Artiste percussionniste oeuvrant sur la scène montréalaise et internationale. Animateur et créateur du spectacle jeunesse Kattam et ses Tam-Tams. Réalisateur de ses deux albums solos De Tombouctou à Bombay et Timbuktu to Bombay.

Prix

Congrès Maghrébin au Québec 2017 - Prix Arts et culture
Independant Music Awards 2016 (USA)
 - Best Children's Music Album
Prix Product'Or 2016 (Ontario) - Tournée Scolaire - Réseau Ontario
Académie Charles Cros (France) - Coup de coeur - Disques pour enfants

Nominations

JUNO AWARDS 2017 - Children's Album of the year
Trille Or 2017 (Canada) - Artiste du Qc s'étant le plus illustré dans la francophonie canadienne
ADISQ 2016 (Québec) - Album de l'année - Jeunesse
Canadian Folk Music Awards 2016 - Artiste solo de l'année - musique du monde
Canadian Folk Music Awards 2016 - Album jeunesse de l'année

Spectacles à venir

album anglo spectacle
6 octobre 2017

Kattam and his Tams-Tams

Lancement /

...
kattamtam6
10 dec 2017

Kattam et ses Tam-Tams

Noël dans le Parc
Parc Des

...

Autres dates à venir...

*Ne figurent sur cette page que les spectacles publics.*

Restez informé!

Suivez l'actualité de Kattam en vous inscrivant à son infolettre!

Découvrez Kattam

Portrait de ma carrière - MABI TV
Kattam et ses Tam-Tams

Suivez Kattam

Facebook

Voir le profil Facebook


Instagram
@kattamtam

Voir le profil Instagram